A.C.T. – N.O.W.

Advisory Community Team – Neighbors On Watch COMMUNITY MEETING MINUTES JULY 16, 2018 (19th ANNUAL MEETING)

Annual Community Meeting was called to order by Chair Mary Link at 6:45 p.m. with 44 members/guests present.

MINUTES

Motion to approve the minutes from the July 17, 2017 18th Annual Meeting by John Ellis support by Bob Barber. All in favor, none opposed, motion carried.

TREASURER'S REPORT

Bob Barber presented the 2017-2018 Fiscal Year End Treasurer's Report (see attached). Motion to approve the Treasurer's Report as given by John Ellis, support by John Klein. All in favor, none opposed, motion carried.

CHAIR REPORT

Mary Link gave a quick re-cap of the year's events and fundraisers. She also thanked everyone for their support of ACT NOW and that all of the community projects and programs that are sponsored by ACT NOW would not happen without the volunteers and support of ACT NOW members. She also announced that she was stepping down from the Executive Board this year due to personal reasons. She will still help out with the projects but is unable to commit time required to fill a board position. Mary thanked everyone for their support as she fulfilled the Chair position for the past 11 years.

ELECTIONS OF OFFICERS

Chief Hill, member of the nominating committee opened the 2018-2019 slate of officers with nominations from the floor at 7:00 p.m.

Chair (Currently Mary Link) Stepping down as a board member
John Ellis was nominated by Bob Barber, support by John Klein. No other nominations
from the floor. Gerald Wall moved that nominations for Chair be closed with unanimous
ballot cast for John Ellis as Chair, support by all, motion carried.

Co-Chair (Currently Carmine Polisei) **Stepping down as a board member** Mike Briggs was nominated by John Ellis, support by Ginny Trombley. No other nominations from the floor. Gerald Wall moved that nominations for Co-Chair be closed with unanimous ballot cast for Mike Briggs as Co-Chair, support by all, motion carried.

Treasurer (Currently Bob Barber)

Bob Barber was nominated by Stanley Baysdell, support by Mike Briggs. No other nominations from the floor. Gerald Wall moved that nominations for Treasurer be closed with unanimous ballot cast for Bob Barber as Treasurer, support by all, motion carried.

Secretary (Currently Julie Hill)

Julie Hill was nominated by John Ellis, support by Bob Barber. No other nominations from the floor. Gerald Wall moved that nominations for Secretary be closed with unanimous ballot cast for Julie Hill as Secretary, support by all, motion carried.

Membership Chair (Currently Michael Briggs)

John Ellis Jr. was nominated by John Ellis Sr., support by Mary Link. No other nominations from the floor. Bob Barber moved that nominations for Membership Chair be closed with unanimous ballot cast for John Ellis Jr. as Membership Chair, support by all, motion carried.

GAP #1 Representative (Currently John Klein)

John Klein was nominated by Sandie Klein, support by John Ellis. No other nominations from the floor. Gerald Wall moved that nominations for GAP #1 Rep. be closed with unanimous ballot cast for John Klein as GAP #1 Representative, support by all, motion carried.

GAP #2 Representative (Currently Kelly Kirkpatrick)

Kelly Kirkpatrick was nominated by Sandie Klein, support by Bob Barber. No other nominations from the floor. Gerald Wall moved that nominations for GAP #2 Rep. be closed with unanimous ballot cast for Kelly Kirkpatrick as GAP #2 Representative, support by all, motion carried.

GAP #3 Representative (Currently John Ellis)

There were no nominations from the floor for a GAP #3 Representative. The Executive Board will seek out and appoint a GAP #3 Representative at a future Executive Board Meeting per Section 6.11 of the ACT NOW Bylaws adopted 2/15/1999.

Motion by John Klein to close the above nominations at 7:13 p.m. Support by Mary Link, all in favor, none opposed, motion carried.

Chief Hill has appointed Officer Shannon Fick to the ACT NOW Executive Board as the Police Department Representative who willingly accepted the position. Sharon Zacny will remain the CERT Representative (non-voting position) and Chief Hill will remain on the board as a non-voting advisory member.

CITIZEN OF THE YEAR AWARD

Chief Hill presented a plaque to MARY LINK for her 11 years as ACT NOW Chair and for her service to "OTHERS" and to the community for all of the volunteer work she does. Congratulations MARY on your well-deserved award!

ANNOUNCEMENTS

- 9th Annual Golf Outing on August 11th at Redwood Golf Course beginning at 10:00 a.m. Officer Austin Martin gave details of event.
- Annual Law Enforcement Torch Run on September 11th at 4:00 p.m. Officer Shannon Fick gave details of the event.

• Scrap Metal Project is up and running. Items can be dropped off to the trailer next to the Police Department Impound Lot. Thank you to Stan Baysdell and Dave Blazejewski (our Scrap Guys) for sorting and taking the scrap metal to the recycling center in Houghton Lake. All proceeds from the Scrap Metal Project support ACT NOW community programs and projects. This is a great way to help keep our neighborhoods clean and donate to a great program at the same time!

NEXT ANNUAL MEETING

• July 15, 2019 at 6:00 p.m. at the Gerrish Township Hall outdoor pavilion. This will be the **20**th **Annual Meeting**.

There being no further business, Dave Blazejewski made a motion to adjourn the 19th Annual ACT NOW meeting. Support by Ginny Trombley, all in favor, none opposed. Meeting adjourned at 7:16 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Julie Hill

Julie Hill ACT NOW Secretary