A.C.T. - N.O.W.

Advisory Community Team – Neighbors On Watch COMMUNITY MEETING AGENDA JULY 18, 2022 (23rd ANNUAL MEETING)

Annual Community Meeting was called to order by Chair John Ellis at 6:47 pm with approximately 50 members/guests present. (Note about another 12-15 boaters passing through the marina grabbed some food at the end.)

MINUTES

Motion to approve the minutes from the July 19, 2021 22nd Annual Meeting by Stan Baysdell, support by Bob Barber. All in favor, none opposed, motion carried.

TREASURER'S REPORT

Bob Barber presented the 2021-2022 Fiscal Year End Treasurer's Report (see attached). Motion to approve the Treasurer's Report as given by Julie Hill, support by Stan Baysdell. All in favor, none opposed, motion carried.

ELECTIONS OF OFFICERS

Chief Hill, member of the nominating committee opened the 2022-2023 slate of officers with nominations from the floor at 6:53 pm.

Chair (Currently John Ellis)

John Ellis was nominated by Sharon Zacny, support by Julie Hill. No other nominations from the floor. Gerald Wall moved that nominations for Chair be closed with unanimous ballot cast for John Ellis as Chair, support by all, motion carried.

Co-Chair (Currently Mike Briggs)

Mike Briggs was nominated by John Ellis, support by Bob Barber. No other nominations from the floor. Gerald Wall moved that nominations for Co-Chair be closed with unanimous ballot cast for Mike Briggs as Co-Chair, support by all, motion carried.

Treasurer (Currently Bob Barber)

Bob Barber was nominated by Sharon Zacny, support by Stan Baysdell. No other nominations from the floor. Gerald Wall moved that nominations for Treasurer be closed with unanimous ballot cast for Bob Barber as Treasurer, support by all, motion carried.

Secretary (Currently Julie Hill)

Julie Hill was nominated by Mary Link, support by Sharon Zacny. No other nominations from the floor. Gerald Wall moved that nominations for Secretary be closed with unanimous ballot cast for Julie Hill as Secretary, support by all, motion carried.

Membership Chair (Vacant)

No nominations or volunteers for this position at this time. If anyone is interested, please see Chief Hill and he will take names to the next board meeting for appointment.

GAP #1 Representative (Currently Sharon Zacny)

Sharon Zacny was nominated by Julie Hill, support by Bob Barber. No other nominations from the floor. Gerald Wall moved that nominations for GAP #1 Rep. be closed with unanimous ballot cast for Sharon Zacny as GAP #1 Representative, support by all, motion carried.

GAP #2 Representative (Currently Ralph Rowland)

Ralph Rowland was nominated by Sharon Zacny, support by John Ellis. No other nominations from the floor. Gerald Wall moved that nominations for GAP #2 Rep. be closed with unanimous ballot cast for Ralph Rowland as GAP #2 Representative, support by all, motion carried.

GAP #3 Representative (Currently Stanley Baysdell)

Stanley Baysdell was nominated by John Ellis, support by Bob Barber. No other nominations from the floor. Gerald Wall moved that nominations for GAP #3 Rep. be closed with unanimous ballot cast for Stanley Baysdell as GAP #3 Representative, support by all, motion carried.

Motion by Julie Hill to close the above nominations at 7:05 pm. Support by Stan Baysdell, all in favor, none opposed, motion carried.

Chief Hill has re-appointed Lt. Eric Muszynski to the ACT NOW Executive Board as the Police Department Representative. Community Representative (non-voting position) Mary Link has agreed to serve for another year. Chief Hill will remain on the board as a non-voting advisory member.

RECOGNITION OF VISITORS

Chief Hill introduced Mary Beebe, candidate for the 82nd District Court Judge and also introduced John Ellis Jr. who will be sponsored by the Gerrish Township Police Department as a Cadet in the upcoming Kirtland Police Academy. John will be employed by the Township as he attends the Academy and will fill the final vacant full-time officer position once he completes the Academy on December 2nd.

NMCAC Director Becky Yuncker thanked ACT NOW for their continued annual support of the Children's Assessment Center and presented a check to ACT NOW/CERT for \$2,000 for their assistance and support for traffic control and safety at the annual Higgins Lake Sunrise Run fundraiser event held June 18th.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

- Scrap Metal Project has been up and running. Items can be dropped off to the trailer next to the Police Department Impound Lot. Thank you to Stan Baysdell and Dave Blazejewski for sorting and taking the scrap metal to the recycling center in Houghton Lake.
- Annual Golf Outing August 13, 2022 at Redwood Golf Course. Flyers and registration forms/brochures available. Looking for teams, hole sponsors, auction items, etc.

- Annual Law Enforcement Torch Run September 13, 2022. See Julie for registration forms or to purchase a \$10 pre-run sale shirt to support Special Olympics Michigan.
- No GLOW GOLF Fundraiser this year. Instead, we will be holding another Bowling Tournament Fundraiser on September 10, 2022 at Fred's of Roscommon.
- SWAC Stuffed Animal Fundraiser will still take place at the Michigan Firemen's Memorial Festival ACT NOW booth on September 17, 2022. This year's animal will be Patriotic Eagles and Tropical Birds.
- Julie has printed synopsis sheets of all the community programs and projects sponsored by ACT NOW and GTPD if anyone would like one.
- The Gerrish Twp. Fire/EMS Department will be holding their annual OPEN HOUSE on August 6th from 7-9:30 pm and will be showing a free family movie "Robots" outdoors behind the building at dusk (approximately 9:30 pm). Bring your lawn chairs or blankets, there will be a free concession stand during the movie.

NEXT ANNUAL MEETING

• July 17, 2023 at 6:00 pm. This will be the **24th Annual Meeting**.

There being no further business, Bob Barber made a motion to adjourn the 23rd Annual ACT NOW meeting. Support by Mary Link, all in favor, none opposed. Meeting adjourned at 7:16 pm.