### A.C.T. - N.O.W.

# Advisory Community Team – Neighbors On Watch COMMUNITY MEETING MINUTES JULY 15, 2019 (20<sup>th</sup> ANNUAL MEETING)

20<sup>th</sup> Annual Community Meeting was called to order by Chair John Ellis at 6:45 p.m. with 81 members/guests present.

### MINUTES

Motion to approve the minutes from the July 16, 2018 19<sup>th</sup> Annual Meeting by Bob Barber, support by John Ellis Jr. All in favor, none opposed, motion carried.

### TREASURER'S REPORT

Bob Barber presented the 2018-2019 Fiscal Year End Treasurer's Report (see attached). Motion to approve the Treasurer's Report as given by Stanley Baysdell, support by John Ellis Jr. All in favor, none opposed, motion carried.

## 20th Year Anniversary of ACT NOW – Highlights (CHIEF HILL)

- Since inception of programs/projects, ACT NOW has donated \$190,072.00 back to the community such as:
  - \$65,328.00 Shop-With-A-Cop (Has assisted 699 people, 479 of those were children)
  - o \$41,288.00 Kids Helping Kids (past 10 years)
  - o \$17,000.00 Scholarship Program
  - o \$17,210.00 Trunk or Treat (past 10 years)
  - o \$15,248.00 Home Energy Assistance Fund
- Started om 1999 with a grant \$634.00 from the Michigan Regional Community Policing Institute (MSU)
- Was born from the residents wanting more personal and better communication between the police officers and the residents
- Charter Board Members were Maggie Soltman, Al Schultz, Julie Hill, Shari Patchin, Jim Lippert, Dolores Buckley & Brian Hill
- Started with 30 township residents, current membership that receives email/mail is 186
- Started with 28 Neighborhood Watch Groups
- First issue of the GAPS Newsletter was March 13, 1999
- Received the Neighborhood Associations of Michigan Award on Sept. 18, 1999 in recognition of Community Oriented Policing
- The first donations came from the HLPOA on Feb. 7, 2000 and from the Higgins Lake Foundation on March 4, 2000
- Received a 4<sup>th</sup> place award from the MACP for the establishment of GAPS and ACT NOW on Feb. 10, 2000

#### ELECTIONS OF OFFICERS

Chief Hill, member of the nominating committee opened the 2019-2020 slate of officers with nominations from the floor at 6:54 p.m.

#### Chair

John Ellis was nominated by Mary Link, support by Ginny Trombley. No other nominations from the floor. Gerald Wall moved that nominations for Chair be closed with unanimous ballot cast for John Ellis as Chair, support by all, motion carried.

#### Co-Chair

Mike Briggs was nominated by Bob Barber, support by Sharon Zacny. No other nominations from the floor. Gerald Wall moved that nominations for Co-Chair be closed with unanimous ballot cast for Mike Briggs as Co-Chair, support by all, motion carried.

#### **Treasurer**

Bob Barber was nominated by Dave Blazejewski, support by Stanley Baysdell. No other nominations from the floor. Gerald Wall moved that nominations for Treasurer be closed with unanimous ballot cast for Bob Barber as Treasurer, support by all, motion carried.

### **Secretary**

Julie Hill was nominated by Mary Link, support by Sharon Zacny. No other nominations from the floor. Gerald Wall moved that nominations for Secretary be closed with unanimous ballot cast for Julie Hill as Secretary, support by all, motion carried.

### Membership Chair

John Ellis Jr. was nominated by Sharon Zacny, support by Julie Hill. No other nominations from the floor. Gerald Wall moved that nominations for Membership Chair be closed with unanimous ballot cast for John Ellis Jr. as Membership Chair, support by all, motion carried.

### **GAP #1 Representative**

John Klein was nominated by Sandie Klein, support by Ginny Trombley. No other nominations from the floor. Gerald Wall moved that nominations for GAP #1 Rep. be closed with unanimous ballot cast for John Klein as GAP #1 Representative, support by all, motion carried.

### **GAP #2 Representative**

Kelly Kirkpatrick was nominated by Sharon Zacny, support by John Ellis Jr. No other nominations from the floor. Gerald Wall moved that nominations for GAP #2 Rep. be closed with unanimous ballot cast for Kelly Kirkpatrick as GAP #2 Representative, support by all, motion carried.

### **GAP #3 Representative**

Stanley Baysdell was nominated by Dave Blazejewski, support by Mary Link. No other nominations from the floor. Gerald Wall moved that nominations for GAP #3 Rep. be

closed with unanimous ballot cast for Stanley Baysdell as GAP #3 Representative, support by all, motion carried.

Chief Hill has appointed Officer Shannon Fick to the ACT NOW Executive Board as the Police Department Representative who willingly accepted the position. Sharon Zacny will remain the CERT Representative (non-voting position) and Chief Hill will remain on the board as a non-voting advisory member.

Motion by Gerald Wall to close the above nominations at 7:08 p.m. Support by Mary Link, all in favor, none opposed, motion carried.

CITIZEN OF THE YEAR AWARD & OFFICER LIFE-SAVING AWARDS (Presented by Chief Hill to Barry McGinnis, Sgt. Norm LaBonte & Officer James Scroggin)

### **ANNOUNCEMENTS**

- 10<sup>th</sup> Annual Golf Outing on August 10<sup>th</sup> at Redwood Golf Course beginning at 10:00 a.m. (**Sgt. Norm LaBonte**)
- Annual Law Enforcement Torch Run on September 11<sup>th</sup> at6:00 p.m. (Officer Shannon Fick)

### NEXT ANNUAL MEETING

• July 20, 2020 at 6:00 p.m. This will be the 21st Annual Meeting.

There being no further business, John Ellis Jr. made a motion to adjourn the 20<sup>th</sup> Annual ACT NOW meeting. Support by Julie Hill, all in favor, none opposed. Meeting adjourned at 7:31 p.m.