“Community with Police…Caring and Sharing Together”
Department News

New MACP President


Pictured above is Gerrish Twp. Police Chief Brian Hill with State Attorney General Bill Schuette. Chief Hill was sworn in as the 86th MACP President by Gerrish Twp. Clerk Jodi Valentino. The oath of office was given to Chief Hill along with the other elected MACP Executive Board officials at an Awards Banquet held at Boyne Highlands Resort Conference Center on June 26th. The Michigan Association of Chief’s of Police consists of over 1000 law enforcement executives representing municipal, township and state police agencies. The association has an 18-member board representing 14 different districts in Michigan (including the U.P.). The MACP office is located in Okemos and staffed by an Executive Director and an Executive Assistant. MACP has members that serve on 14 different committees and provide liaisons to six different organizations. The MACP, which is celebrating its 88th anniversary this year, is dedicated to the enhanced professionalization of law enforcement in Michigan and serves its membership via professional publications, seminars, training conferences and through legislative endeavors. Chief Hill, as the 2012-2013 President, will represent the MACP at events throughout the state as well as at the International Association of Chiefs of Police conference and various legislative events. Chief Hill has been a police officer since 1982 and has served all of his 30 years in law enforcement with the Gerrish Township Police Department. Chief Hill served as a Sergeant at the department for 14 years and was hired as the Chief seven years ago when Chief Biggar retired. Chief Hill has been instrumental in converting and maintaining the department as a “Community Policing” agency while still implementing traditional police values and standards. Chief Hill was also honored for his accomplishments at the ACT NOW Annual Picnic on July 16th by his officers and many citizens from both the Gerrish Township CERT team and ACT NOW Community group.